Call for applications to Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window mobility programme lot 13, coordinated by Lund University

Web page: http://www.erasmuswindow13.org/. Does not exist any more.

Lund lot 13Applications are now invited for the Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window (EMECW) lot 13 programme coordinated by Lund University.
This is one of the four Lot 13 programmes dedicated to mobility between India and the European Union, offering grants for the academic years 2010 – 2013. More information about all the South Asia related EMECW programmes.

The application period started on 1 September 2009, and will close on 15 November.

Totally 183 scholarships will be awarded through the programme for all mobility groups (undergraduate students, masters students, PhD candidates, post-docs, and academic staff) starting in 2010 (with start dates between April 1 and September 1, 2010). Duration of the scholarships vary from 1 to 34 months. The scholarships cover travel, insurance, possible tuition, living expenses and housing costs. 75 p.c. of the mobility is from India to Europe and 25 p.c. from Europe to India.

Target groups

Target Group 1. Students and academic staff currently enrolled in or affiliated with one of the partner universities in the consortium behind the programme:

European partners:
Lund University
Karolinska Institutet Medical University (KI), Stockholm, Sweden
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Pierre & Marie Curie University (UPMC), Paris, France
Freie Universität Berlin (FU), Germany
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg (FU), Germany
Politecnico di Milano, Italy
University of Vilnius (UV), Lithuania
University of Amsterdam (UvA), The Netherlands
International Institute for Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC), Enschede, The Netherlands
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway
University of Deusto (UD), Bilbao, Spain
Partner Universities in India

Indian partners:
University of Delhi (DU)
Jadavpur University (JU), Kolkata
University of Pune (UP)
University of Kerala (KU)
Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IITK)
Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS), Mumbai
Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences (PIMS), Loni, Maharashtra
Anand Agricultural University (AAU), Anand, Gujarat

Scholarship for this target group is offered at all levels: Undergraduate, Master, Doctoral, Post-Doctoral, Academic staff.

Target Group 2. Indian Nationals who are studying or have a degree from an Indian higher education institution that is not a partner university; Indian Nationals who have finished their degree at a partner university and are no longer enrolled in one; Indian Nationals who are working in public administration, public and private enterprises.
The scholarship is offered only at the following levels: Master, Doctoral, Post-Doctoral.

Target Group 3. Indian Nationals who are studying at or have a degree from an Indian higher education institution that is not a partner university, and who are: refugees, asylum beneficiaries, or have been subjected to discrimination (ethnic, racial, sexual or disability related).
The scholarship is offered only at the following levels: Undergraduate, Master, Doctoral.

Admission requirements

The admission requirements for scholarship are as follows:

• Academic performance
• Motivation of the candidates
• Language capacity to follow courses, teach/do research at the host universityGender balance
• Level of vulnerability and socio-economical status (especially concerning target group 3)
• The scholar's commitment to come back to his/her home institution/country

The Indian government has put up the following prioritised themes, that influence the selection process:

• Agricultural Sciences
• Food Processing 
• Engineering (especially environment and energy) 
• Geology (especially geo science and earth observation)
• Medical Sciences (especially public health)
• Technology (especially biotechnology and nanotechnology)
• Management, Regional Planning and Rural Development
• Education and Teacher Training
• Social Sciences (especially social security and welfare)
• Political Science (especially governance)
• International Law (especially human rights)

Selection process

1. The university you have applied to will decide whether you are eligible and can be considered for studies at their university. You ought to apply to more than one university to be able to be considered at every possible university according to your specialized field of studies and language proficiency.
2. When all requirements for the preliminary admission are fulfilled, the university you have applied to will notify Lund University and the candidate will be placed on the validated candidates list.
3. If not nominated to the first hand choice university, Lund University (the coordinating university) will be notified and the application will be forwarded to the second hand choice university. The first application you submit will end up being your first hand choice, the second application you submit will end up being your second hand choice and so on.
4. A selection panel will meet to select candidates and finalize the list of nominated students and scholars.
The list of nominated candidates will be sent to the Education Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) and will include a list of reserves.
5. Shortlisted candidates will first be notified via e-mail. After that, the host university may contact them to verify their credentials and discuss the terms of the scholarship. A formal letter of invitation will be issued to each grantholder by the coordinating institution after the list of selected candidates has been reviewed and approved by the EACEA Agency.
6. The host university will be responsible for further processing of the mobility (admission, visa, payment of scholarship, accrediting degrees, accommodation, tuition etc.).

Back to Research

Search the SASNET Web Index

SASNET - Swedish South Asian Studies Network/Lund University
Address: Scheelevägen 15 D, SE-223 70 Lund, Sweden
Phone: +46 46 222 73 40
Webmaster: Lars Eklund
Last updated 2011-04-08